The Best of Robin Williams, IMHO

If you would have asked me two weeks ago to name my favorite actors of all time, I would have had a hard time coming up with more than one or two.  Robin Williams would have been far from my mind.  However, if you would have reframed the question to be: Who has been the most influential actor of your childhood? or Who has been the most surprising and humbling celebrity you have ever spent time with? or Who would be a part of your top music career moments?… Well, isn’t it obvious?

I’m not going to make this about me.  It isn’t.  This is merely my tribute; the way that I remember Robin as a celebrity and as a person.  I hope you enjoy…

“You’re only given a little spark of madness. You mustn’t lose it.” – Robin Williams

“Comedy, is acting out optimism.” -Robin Williams

“Australians are basically English rednecks. If Darwin had landed in Australia, he would have gone: “I’m wrong”.” – Robin Williams

“I used to think that the worst thing in life was to end up alone. It’s not. The worst thing in life is to end up with people who make you feel alone.” – Robin Williams

“You treat a disease? You win; you lose.  You treat a person? You’ll win no matter what the outcome.” -Patch Adams

“But oh to be free! Such a thing would be greater than all the magic and the treasure in the world.” -Genie, Aladdin

“We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion.” -Professor John Keating, Dead Poets Society

“What’s true in our minds, is true – whether some people know it or not…” – Christie, What Dreams May Come

“This is not your fault…Look at me son, it’s not your fault…”

“What some folks call impossible, is just stuff they haven’t seen before…” – What Dreams May Come

“Oh, There You Are Peter…”

“Goodbye Genie”

Oh Captain, my Captain! Today, the world lost a man and a legend to suicide. I’m not sure if it is how he left this Earth or the timing of it, but it hit me very deeply and personally. It is far too easy to find yourself depressed in this world when all you hoped to give, such as laughter and comedy, is met with indifference or judgement; when a whole new generation of children sit texting through his movies or his comedy jams rather than feeling connected to the evening and the memory. In the brief night I knew him face-to-face, he will be remembered as a man that made me laugh out loud, and a man who made good fun with me for being from Utah. In my life, he will always be remembered as Pan. Even if I am nobody, I wish I would have had the chance to tell him just one last time, “All you gotta do is believe and you’ll fly…” I’d remind him that any battle in life can be met with a crow. He can crow. He can fly. He’s Peter Pan!

Goodbye Robin…

Caz and Robin Williams

Goodbyes from others:

Audience of Broadway’s ‘Aladdin’ salutes Robin Williams with a singalong

A Little Known Robin Williams Story

Robin Williams 1951-2014

Portrait of Robin Williams

MediaJunkit.com

One response to “The Best of Robin Williams, IMHO

  1. Pingback: A good time to reflect. | Stuff & Things·

Leave a Reply

