Terrigal Walkabout No. 2

After my walkabout yesterday, I sat on the porch, taking in the sounds of delightful traffic – boats, planes, and trains. There’s no sarcasm there. I love a busy lifestyle.

The hot afternoon sun felt amazing. I knew I would fry to a crisp if I stayed out much longer, but it is hard not to pay some sort of homage to all that surrounds me. So I rolled out my yoga mat, always facing West, into the sun.

When I do this, my first thought is always one of embarrassment. Who’s looking? Is it weird? Where are the neighbours? Can they see me? But there’s something strong about venturing yourself in a big world. It takes only a moment before everything is hushed and my concentration is turned to counting, breathing, flowing, letting go…

It is a good thing I checked my phone after this brief run through varying salutations because I had a message from Stark that essentially said – meet me at the train in 25 minutes. We were going out of town. He was taking me with him on a work trip. It was going to be our first real Australian adventure together, aside from that whole moving here bit.

The train would go directly with limited stops from Milson to Gosard. The ride took less than two hours and cost us only $8 to arrive at a this destination workspace – Terrigal beach.

So here is my walkabout for the day, a little more difficult than the last as beach towns don’t vary all that much.

IMG_0253.JPG

Left to right, top to bottom

1. No photo can really do this justice. From Kindergarten age to these young Tweens, it seems most children near the coasts of Australia join a surf club. Now, this isn’t to surf per se. No, this is to learn to take care of yourself in the mean waters of Sydney shore and likewise, to be able to take care of others. It is lifeguard training at Coast Guard levels. I could swim miles at the same age as these children, but I never sported such muscles. I watched only for a moment because frankly I didn’t want to seem creepy. These kids jump on surf boards and paddle with fury to the buoy in the Bay – likely more than just a buoy and probably more so a net post, holding up an attempt to keep sharks from the swimming area. They touch the pole and paddle back in perfect balance and with impressive effort. They do this many, many times before they jump in sea kayaks and race the width of the Bay. Yes, width. From one end to the other over and over. I think I would die.

2. It excited me to see familiar, red rock resembling some of my favourite Earth space. I suppose sandstone is sandstone. As Southern Utah once existed as a vast sea, the edges of Australia still meet that standard and here is that evidence of ages past.

3. See that? That’s the width of the Bay. See #1. Remember… Back and forth. Back and forth.

4. This is a sign warning you of animals in the Bay that will kill you and then an even more alarming warning of all sorts of deadly awareness that basically says, “If you swim outside of the flags, we won’t save you.” These exist on most beaches.

5. The view from above. Thanks for the free room guys!

6. This is a small swim pool or tide pool. These exist at many beaches as well and essentially are the “kiddy pool” for the ocean. At low tide, the pool is just right with sea water to allow families with small children to play freely.

7. Jasmine! It is everywhere here. It’s as though every street is perfumed by honeysuckle.

8. More of those amazing rocks and creeping tides. This was a great view except for this was also the point where the wind blew my hair into my eyes and I stepped in a pool of water… With my precious Tieks on. My first thought was, “Oh well. If you can’t use shoes don’t wear shoes.” It’s what they are for right?

9. A fantastic evening sky, the view of our hotel from the corner, and a beach pine in true silhouette fashion.

A wise man once said, “What I have learned from this is, I can really live simply….” 🙂

Leave a Reply

