Committing yourself, or something.

Maybe it is my work life spilling over into my personal life.  Maybe it comes from the books I’ve been reading (or listening to).  Mostly, it is just who I am, but I have had some great ideas lately.  To name a few awesome blog topics… there’s uhhh…. that one….umm.  Right.  I trust that when I have a Smart Watch on my wrist, I’ll be more apt to make mental notes via voice memo.  Then again, Australian Siri has NO idea what I am saying.  Truly, none!

Still, in my personal and professional life, there are a lot of questions I get on repeat.  I have no idea why my marketing mind has never thought, “Oh wow, I should blog about that.”  I tend to stay away from article-seeming blog posts and talk mostly about myself.  Isn’t that why we are all here?  For me!  Just kidding…

However, in my experience, one of the best ways of committing yourself to getting something done is to tell everyone you’re going to do it.  Somehow, our internal compass lovingly referred to as human behavior will lead us away from doing anything that is only for ourselves more often than it will allow us to let other people down.

So here are just some of the topics/questions I get a lot of that I hope to address some day soon.  Things like,

  • How the hell do you eat so much and stay so skinny?
  • How did you go against all odds and become so good with managing money?
  • How do you do so much/stay on top of it all/stay so organized?
  • What is a day in the life of an Australian like?
  • Do you just love Sydney? How is it so different?
  • What are some of the major differences in living in Australia?
  • I wanna know all about the words you’ve learned there in Australia!
  • Will you sign my band?  (Yup, I still get that question ALL the time…)

Until then, I’m just checking in.  You might notice that I started rearranging things differently on this here blog and have customized the navigation for the page.  Take this as evidence of things to come… someday.  I’m not going to tell you about it because then I would have to seriously commit.

On a side note, remember that one time last year that I was all excited about upcoming changes based on an interactive book that I was going to write?  I went all out and bought the URL for it, starting researching, and all that fun stuff.  Well, Australia has put a damper on that.  Why?  Because a big part of that book was based around ordering Traditional (aka American) Chinese food, which they don’t have here.  The one time Stark and I found “Kung Pao Chicken,” we about died.  Since when was Kung Pao 10 parts chili peppers and 0 parts peanuts?  Wowzers!

Leave a Reply

