Day 9 Never have soda in the home – 30 Days of Lazy Health

9. Never have soda in the home

 Tweet This

This was one of my most staunch rules as a young adult and something I had to have more than one house guest adhere to with great complaint (also because I wouldn’t allow alcohol in my home).  This has been less easy as I have married myself into someone else’s fond memories and eating habits – one of the hardest aspects of staying healthy as an adult.  However, just like creating your own rules to start your own family, you work together to create your own rules on health.  For me, that rule is to never have soda in the home.  All too easily we get into the habit of grabbing a soda only to serve up the excuse that, “I don’t even finish it!”  Well, add all those sips into one can and you’ve still added hundreds of unwarranted calories to your day, compromised the health of your teeth, upset your once balanced stomach lining, and so much more.

Don’t get me wrong.  I love a fresh Mountain Dew or a super bubbly Coke.  There are certain times of the year where mentally, I want nothing else for no other reason than habits of nostalgia I have created for myself around certain events, like Christmas.  Even then, I never buy a 2 liter bottle, keep a big gulp cup readily available, or bring a Costco sized box of soda home because unhealthy habits can never be trusted.  If I want it that bad, I will have to walk to go get it.

Healthy Relationship Tip: Stark is still a lover of all things Pepsi.  Over the years, I have found my compromise.  Rather than be forever upset at soda in the home, we only keep one can in the refrigerator at a time.  That forces the habit of never drinking too many.  As I have over a decade of practiced soda-free habits, I have few cravings, but I can also be the first to admit that the minute I bring my own box of Coke into the home, it’ll be gone in just two days.  That’s where step 10 and 11 have come into place.

(continue to the next post or wait for tomorrow for the next step)

Want to stay up to date on these posts?  Subscribe to the blog on the homepage at areyouwithcaz.wordpress.com

Join in the conversation on Twitter by using #MyLazyHealthHabits

2 responses to “Day 9 Never have soda in the home – 30 Days of Lazy Health

    • Baby steps! As long as you can keep from going on soda benders, you don’t have to be so extreme about it. Most people, myself included, just can’t keep their hands off what is available to them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

