Day 13 Get to know your starches as healthy fillers – 30 Days of Lazy Health

13. Get to know your new starches as healthy fillers

 Tweet This

We know that potatoes are a starchy food.  You might also know that white rice is higher in starch.  However, these starches aren’t all bad.

Starches that aren’t that great for you are combined with those complex carb sugars that we try to ignore.  These are things like white bread and pasta.

Refined grains, sweet potatoes, white potatoes, winter squash, peas, green beans, broccoli, cauliflower, peppers, cucumbers, carrots, mushrooms, celery (want me to keep going?) these are all high in starch too!  GASP!

What is good about these starches?  Well, they’re high quality carbs that are rich in vitamins and minerals.  Most importantly, they’re high in fiber.  What’s fiber good for?  Poop.  No joke!  If you aren’t pooping, you aren’t losing.  Keeping your diet balanced and regular will keep your stomach stay more flat.

My favorite thing about these starches?  They’re filling.  I consider what I am eating for dinner.  If it is red meat, I can’t afford any more not-perfect food on my plate, but I want to be full so I’m not starving one hour later and treating myself to cereal as a mindless filler.  So I combine A LOT of green beans with my red-meats and I’ll whip up cauliflower potatoes (seriously, just like mashed potatoes, but so much better).  If I am having chicken, I know I have a little more wiggle room.  That’s when I’ll have a small bunch of russet potatoes, or some sweet potato fries, or rice!

Here’s some great info on healthy starches.

(continue to the next post or wait for tomorrow for the next step)

Want to stay up to date on these posts?  Subscribe to the blog on the homepage at areyouwithcaz.wordpress.com

Join in the conversation on Twitter by using #MyLazyHealthHabits

Leave a Reply

